Click for CARS Home Page
Chelmsford Amateur Radio Society

RSGB Club of the Year 2009

National Club of the Year Competition

CARS was pleased to be selected as the 2009 Winning Club for Region 12 and then Nationally - in the very first year that the competition was created.

Reports below are from the Region-12 presentation at W&S and the national final at the RSGB AGM

Regional and National Club of the Year Awards in their frames

RSGB AGM - Saturday 17-Apr-2010

On a lovely quiet day in the sky (due to Icelandic Volcano Ash grounding all jets) John, G8DET picked up Clive Ward G1EUC and Gwyn Williams G4FKH and made a 2m contact with Mark Sanderson, M0IEO who was picking up Martyn G1EFL and they set off to Bedford to attend the RSGB AGM.

Clive acted as a human satnav and navigated the party to reach The Bedford Swan Hotel, in time for registration at 11am.

L-to-R: John G8DET, Mark, M0IEO, Clive G1EUC and Martyn G1EFL.
Gwyn, G4FKH was talking to a Board Member for Propagation inside.
Photograph taken by an anon RSGB Member - thanks.

After a nice tea/coffee the AGM started at 12 noon:-

The RSGB AGM Top Table.
Photo by John, G8DET.

The formal announcements and finance report were kept quite brief and then the Awards were presented.

Steve Hartley G0FUW and the Bath Buildathon team collected the Kenwood Training Trophy for outstanding contribution to amateur radio training.   This was previously awarded to CARS in 2007.

The National Club of the Year Award was announced in reverse order (as is Come Dancing!)

  • The 3rd place went to Spalding and District ARS and they collected their Award.

  • The 2nd place went to the Verulam ARS (Hertfordshire) and they collected their Award.

    Had this meant CARS had lost out ? Peter Kirby then said

  • "The Club of the year is deservingly - Chelmsford Amateur Radio Society"

    We had done it due to the dedication of all Members - Thank you everyone!

    BATC video camera man, Gwyn, Clive, Mark, Martyn, John and Dave Wilson, M0OBW, President.
    Photograph taken by a Regional Manager from the front row - thanks.

    The RSGB Club of the Year Award Certificate.

    With the Award (above) also comes a lovely modern Glass Trophy and a monetary award as well.

    In accepting the award from RSGB President Dave Wilson M0OBW, Chairman John paid tribute to all CARS Members who had supported the Club during the year to make the Award Competition Entry possible and to the excellent support received from all the surrounding Clubs including SEARS, LEFARS, CRA and Felixstowe to name but a few.

    After the presentation the Region-4 Manager introduced himself as Harold Scrivens G0UGE, who had been the promoter of the Club of the Year Award and had quite a chat.   He said he was very pleased that CARS had won the Award as he often saw items in RadCom (thank you Trevor M5AKA) and noted our Training Web information (thank you Murray G6JYB) and Training efforts (thank you Clive G1EUC, Chris G0IPU, Mark M0IEO and Martyn G1EFL).   He had also noted our publicity and he was particulary strong on promoting Amateur Radio to the public (thank you Mark M0IEO & Richard M3YLB).

    John G8DET with Harold Scrivens G0UGE and Dave Wilson M0OBW, President.
    Photo by the Official Photographer.

    The "Founders Trophy" was awarded to Prof. Martin Harrison - G3USF, Chairman of the PSC.   As he could not be there it was accepted by Leslie Butterfields, G0CIB (Board Member for Propagation) and Gwyn, G4FKH.

    Dave Wilson, President, Gwyn Williams, G4FKH and Leslie Butterfields, G0CIB.
    Photo by John, G8DET.

    After excellent lunch provided by the hotel the AGM reconvened at 2pm for question time where CARS Members took an active part.

    At 3.30pm the RSGB Members were going and CARS took Leslie, G0CIB (and the large Founders Trophy) to the railway station with Clive acting as human Satnav again.

    A Wedding party were waiting to take over the places the RSGB had just vacated - a good utilisation on the part of the Swan Hotel.   Thanks to their good facilities and to the RSGB.

    The new bride waiting to use the Swan Hotel

    A good drive back (the quiet way via Baldock) and the CARS party got back in Chelmsford for 6.30pm in time to see the setting sun.   Round trip of 150 miles (more for Mark).

    The setting sun in the Volcano Ash

    CARS have received dozens of very nice congratulation E-Mails - good news seems to travel nearly as fast as bad news!   Jeff Stanton G6XYU (W&S) has passed his congratulations and Norman M0FZW from SEARS forwarded the email below from India. What Ganesan may not know is that we used his photograph in our competition entry - so we have to thank him!

    John G8DET,   A note from Ganesan.   73s   Norman, M0FZW, SEARS.

    ----- Original Message -----
    From: MKAananthaganesan ganesan
    Sent: Monday, April 19, 2010 2:46 PM
    Subject: Re: RSGB Club of the Year 2009.

    Dear Norman,
    Let me congratulate the Chairman, Hon. Sec and office bearers and Members of the CARS for being adjudged the "Club of the Year" by the RSGB.   I am really privileged to be associated with CARS as a Honorary Member.
    Hats off to all who have made this possible.   I hope the Anamalai Amateur Radio Club will try to emulate all your activities and in the years to come try to get the honour received by CARS.

    Please be kind enough to convey my heartiest wishes to the Club Members and other office bearers that your achievement is kindling me to train as many students as possible and bring them in to our fold.
    Your untiring efforts are giving me the fillip to do as much to the student community as possible.   Keep it up and good luck.

    Ganesan, President of the Anamalai Amateur Radio Club, India.

    Thank you very much Ganesan and Norman.

    RSGB Region-12 Award

    The Club of the Year award for Region 12 was sponsored by Waters & Stanton and presented at their Hockley shop on Saturday, 27th March.

    A number of CARS Members travelled to Hockley where Jeff Stanton G6XYU presented the Trophy to Phillip Brooks G4NZQ RSGB Region 12 Manager to pass on to them.

    L-to-R: Jeff G6XYU, Phillip G4NZQ presenting the RSGB Region 12 Club of the Year Trophy to CARS Chairman John Bowen G8DET.
    Photo by Murray, G6JYB.

    In presenting the Trophy Jeff said he was pleased that the first Club to win the new title was CARS as they had such a good working relationship with them – they also appeared in RadCom more often than W&S!

    CARS Members were then invited to have their photograph taken to record the event.

    Left to right: Peter Hale G4OAD, John Yates G1UZD, Andrew Kersey, G0IBN;
    CARS Vice President Geoff Mills, G3EDM; RSGB Region 12 Manager Phillip Brooks, G4NZQ;
    Mark Sanderson, M0IEO; CARS Senior Instructor Murray Niman, G6JYB;
    Stuart Haycock 2E0VZL, Colin Page G0TRM.
    Seated: CARS Training Manager Clive Ward G1EUC, Chairman John G8DET and Trainer Martyn Medcalf, G1EFL

    Photo by Norman Crampton, M0FZW, SEARS Secretary and a CARS Member

    The top inscription of the Region-12 Trophy
    Photo by Murray G6JYB

    Left: The RSGB Region 12 Club of the Year Trophy, sponsored by Waters & Stanton, Hockley.
    Right:The plaque was presented to be kept by CARS to remind them of the event.

    Photos by Murray G6JYB

    Congratulations to those who drafted and edited the Competition Entry and to all those CARS Members who made Winning the Trophy possible.

    Click here to go back to the Top of this Page

    To RETURN to the CARS Society Page - Click Here

    To RETURN to the CARS Home Web Page - Click Here

  • ©Copyright CARS